Manu Ginobili Jersey Retirement Tonight

Tonight will be a night of tears. Whether that be tears of joy or sadness along with Manu and ole ole ole chants. San Antonio Spurs legend and shooting guard Manu Ginobili will have his number twenty jersey hung up on the rafters of the AT&T center next to his former teammates Tim Duncan and David Robinson.

Ginobili has meant so much for the Spurs, he helped them win four championships and has had a pivotal role in each one. The Spurs do not win any of his four championships without him and they could have possibly won more if Ginobili had never got hurt. In 2005 if Ginobili had not been willing to come off the bench and become the sixth man for the Spurs they do not win as much as they did during his time there. Ginobili is also apart of the most wins as a trio with Tim Duncan and Tony Parker as well as the most ever wins as a duo with Tony Parker.

Ginobili may not have been the best player in Spurs history but he was the heart and passion of every Spurs team. There is no doubt that Ginobili is the most loved Spurs player ever. Yes, over Tim Duncan, Tony Parker, and David Robinson it is easily able to notice by the cheers and love from the fans as well as the way current and former teammates talk about Ginobili. If Duncan were to score the crowd cheers but when Ginobili scores the place erupts. Ginobili was not just loved by San Antonio and his native country of Argentina but by the rest of the world. The fact that Ginobili when doing interviews speaks in both English and Spanish makes him connect with so many more people. On court Ginobili would always do the craziest passes and moves one could ever imagine.

Ginobili is my favorite player ever over Blake Griffin, Devin Booker and Lebron James. What I loved most about Manu was the passion he played with and all those crazy layups he did in the games. Manu Ginobili was the first Spurs player I have ever met and I still remember I was trying to grab my jersey for him to sign it and he grabs it and sign it. I remember I was frozen for a good two minutes and I said “gracias” then i went back to my mom and started crying because I could not believe it so I definitely know i will be in tears tonight during his jersey retirement.

Leave a comment